A Chilled Bicycle Works Better?

So the Northern Ohio weather has done its Northern Ohio weather thing enough so far this autumn-winter that I have a few data points and can comfortable report that I get much better performance out of my rear derailleur when it’s cold outside. How? What? Why?

What I really need is to go in for a tune up. In the meantime, I’ve been living with some clunky shifting and a few gears that just don’t want to get a good catch. Except when it’s cold. In the below ~40 F regime everything is smooth as glass. Which makes for a super nice ride into campus, but is unfortunately distracting from other pressing issues. Can I make the case that this is sufficiently important to invoke How to Procrastinate and Sill Get Things Done?

I have two thoughts. The less likely of the two is that there is a change in the viscosity of my lubricant (teflon-based). The one I’m more inclined to believe is that there’s thermal contraction that results in a tightening of the chain. Now I could whip up a simulation and dust off my computational physics skills from that class I took years ago. I could also go over and re-purpose the temperature regulated chamber we use to stress test electronics to measure the length of a bike chain at various temperatures.

Alas, I’ll just pitch the question out there to the world and plug myself back in to LaTeX.

About apfergus

A coffee sipping, bike riding, (newly) ballroom dancing, cardigan sweater enthusiast, and astrophysics grad student looking at the highest energy cosmic rays.
This entry was posted in Science, Whimsy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

