A Word on Terminology: “Suffer” vs “Cope”

A relatively common verb to hear when talking about mental illness is “suffer”. Frequently this is a perfectly accurate, descriptive word but I try not to use it. My preferred word is “cope”. Instead of “I suffer from mental illness” it would be “I cope with mental illness”. This helps keep an optimistic state of mind. I may have an illness that I will have for the rest of my life, but that life is still going to be as good, happy, and fulfilling as I can make it.

Every now and then there’s a bad day when the other word rises to the surface, but for the most part I try to stick to coping. By and large that will probably be the phrase I will use most often here at ye olde blog and I recommend trying it out for yourself if applicable and would like to see it should any commenting occur in future.

About apfergus

A coffee sipping, bike riding, (newly) ballroom dancing, cardigan sweater enthusiast, and astrophysics grad student looking at the highest energy cosmic rays.
This entry was posted in General Miscelany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

